All About Chakras

| 3 min read

Many people believe that chakras (the seven centers of spiritual power in the human body) can be healed and cleansed by gemstones, color and sound. Concentrating on certain colors or sounds is believed to aid the overall balance of the chakras.

The physical body and consciousness are said to consist of seven chakras located at major points in our nervous system, starting at the base of the spinal column and moving upward along the backbone to the skull. Different chakra interact with different parts and aspects of our body. All senses, perceptions, experiences and conscience can be divided into seven categories: the Crown, Third Eye, Throat, Heart, Solar Plexus, Sacral and Root. It is thought that chakra can be healed and cleansed by gemstones, color and sound. Concentrating on certain colors or sounds is believed to aid the overall balance of the chakras. For example, the Throat chakra is cleansed by blue and the noise created from the word ‘eye’. Gemstones are believed to be in tune with chakra by their color and vibration. It is thought that applying a gemstone, usually directly onto the skin, can have a beneficial effect on the chakra. Here is more about the seven chakra and their related gemstones and colors.

1. Root Chakra

Root Chakra

The Root Chakra is connected with our sense of earth and grounding. It is also beneficial to instinct and survival.

  • Gemstones: Garnet, Black Tourmaline, Haematite, Smokey Quartz, Bloodstone and Ruby.
  • Location: Base of the spine (coccyx).
  • Color: Blood-red (secondary color is black).

2. Sacral Chakra

Sacral Chakra

Related to water, emotions and sexuality, it connects with our grace, depth of feeling and ability to accept change.

  • Gemstones: Amber, Azurite, Malachite, Clear Quartz, Jade, Ruby, Carnelian and Citrine.
  • Location: Lower abdomen.
  • Color: Orange.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra

Solar Plexus Chakra

Related to our willpower, creativity and autonomy, it brings us energy and spontaneity.

  • Gemstones: Citrine, Amber, Moonstone, Peridot, Calcite and Topaz.
  • Location: Below the chest.
  • Color: Yellow.

4. Heart Chakra

Heart Chakra

The middle chakra of the seven is the Heart Chakra, related to love, persona, mind and body; it helps us love, have peace and feel compassion.

  • Gemstones: Malachite, Emerald, Green Tourmaline, Rose Quartz, Kunzite and Rhodochrosite.
  • Location: Center of the chest.
  • Color: Green (secondary color is pink).

5. Throat Chakra

Throat Chakra

This is located around the throat and therefore is related to communication and creativeness.

  • Gemstones: Lapis Lazuli, Sapphire, Aquamarine, Turquoise, Kyanite, Blue Topaz and Azurite.
  • Location: Throat area.
  • Color: Blue.

6. Third Eye Chakra

Third Eye Chakra

Also known as the Brow Chakra, it is believed to relate to the act of seeing - both physically and intuitively. When this chakra is healthy, it gives clarity of thought and vision.

  • Gemstones: Turquoise, Watermelon Tourmaline, Labradorite, Amethyst and Moonstone.
  • Location: Center of the forehead, between the eyebrows.
  • Color: Blue through Indigo.

7. Crown Chakra

Crown Chakra

The Crown chakra has a direct association with consciousness to give knowledge and understanding in spiritual connections and bliss.

  • Gemstones: Amethyst, Opal, Tourmaline, Diamond and Clear Quartz.
  • Location: Top of the head.
  • Color: Purple.


Our Most Popular Blog Posts

Our Latest Blog Posts