A Beginner's Guide to Chakras

| 6 min read

With the current popularity of yoga, meditation and New Age philosophies, the concept of chakras has gradually become more well-known.

In simple terms, chakras (the Sanskrit word for ‘wheel’) are the centres of spiritual power in the human body. A complex and ancient energy system dating back as early as 1500 to 1000 BC, chakras are thought of as the main energy points in your body, which run down the spine from your skull to your tailbone.

Here, we discuss the concept of chakras and what they represent.


The 7 Chakras

Chakras, like we said earlier, are said to be the main energy points in your body that run from the skull to the backbone. They're thought to be like spinning discs that correspond with the nerves and major organs in our body – basically, the areas that affect our physical and emotional wellbeing. This is why, when people discuss chakras, they refer to how they should stay ‘aligned’.

It is widely believed that, if they are unbalanced, chakras can be healed and cleansed by gemstones, colour and sound. Specific gemstones are thought to be in tune with specific chakras, and that their colour and vibration can have a beneficial effect.

Although some say there are more, there are thought to be seven main chakras that run from the top of your head to the bottom of your spine. Each of these chakras has a corresponding name, number, colour and area of focus when it comes to our overall health.

So, from the top to the bottom, let’s look at each of the seven chakras and what they are thought to represent.

1. Root Chakra

Root Chakra

  • Number: One
  • Location: Tailbone/base of the spine
  • Colour: Red
  • Area of Focus: Physical identity, stability
  • Gemstones: Garnet, Black Tourmaline, Haematite, Smokey Quartz, Bloodstone and Ruby

The Root Chakra is connected with our sense of earth and grounding. It is also beneficial to instinct and survival.

This chakra is said to have a huge influence on how secure we feel, both physically and emotionally. If the Root chakra is blocked in any way, it’s thought that emotional issues such as financial insecurities can be triggered. Physically, a blocked Root chakra can be said to relate to arthritis, bladder problems and more, due to its position at the base of the spine.

However, when the Root chakra is in alignment, we’re said to feel both physically and emotionally balanced.

2. Sacral Chakra

Sacral Chakra

  • Number: Two
  • Location: Lower abdomen
  • Colour: Orange
  • Area of Focus: Sexuality, pleasure, creativity
  • Gemstones: Amber, Azurite, Malachite, Clear Quartz, Jade, Ruby, Carnelian and Citrine

The Sacral Chakra, which sits between your stomach and pelvis, is said to be connected to our feelings of pleasure and creativity. Physically, this chakra is also seen to relate to the associated organs and, if unbalanced, can manifest itself into lower back pain, urinary infections and the like.

Related to emotions and sexuality, the Sacral chakra connects with our grace, depth of feeling and ability to accept change.

3. Solar Plexus Chakra

Solar Plexus Chakra

  • Number: Three
  • Location: Upper abdomen
  • Colour: Yellow
  • Area of Focus: Confidence, self-esteem
  • Gemstones: Citrine, Amber, Moonstone, Peridot, Calcite and Topaz

Related to our willpower, creativity and autonomy, the Solar Plexus Chakra is thought to bring us energy and spontaneity.

The Solar Plexus chakra is said to be the chakra of our personal power, relating to our confidence and self-esteem. If this chakra is balanced, it’s thought that we will have more positive feelings towards ourselves, and ultimately have a higher self-worth.

It’s considered important to keep this chakra aligned to not only protect your emotional wellbeing, but to also prevent physical issues relating to this part of the body, such as stomach ulcers, heartburn and indigestion.

4. Heart Chakra

Heart Chakra

  • Number: Four
  • Location: Centre of the chest
  • Colour: Green
  • Area of Focus: Love, compassion
  • Gemstones: Malachite, Emerald, Green Tourmaline, Rose Quartz, Kunzite and Rhodochrosite

The Heart chakra is located just above the heart, in the area known as the ‘heart centre’, and bridges the gap between our upper and lower chakras.

The Heart chakra, as you might guess, is said to represent our ability to love and connect to others. So, blocks in this chakra can cause feelings of loneliness and insecurity, as well as physical problems with the heart – or so it is claimed.

Overall, the middle chakra is related to love, persona, mind and body; it helps us love, have peace and feel compassion.

5. Throat Chakra

Throat Chakra

  • Number: Five
  • Location: Throat
  • Colour: Blue
  • Area of Focus: Commuinication
  • Gemstones: Lapis Lazuli, Sapphire, Aquamarine, Turquoise, Kyanite, Blue Topaz and Azurite

The Throat Chakra is located around the throat and is therefore related to verbal communication, as well as creativeness.

It’s claimed that any issues related to your mouth, voice or throat indicates a blockage. When your Throat chakra is misaligned, it is thought to cause people to gossip, speak without thinking and fail to be able to speak their mind.

However, when this chakra is in alignment, you are said to both speak and listen with compassion and feel confident when you do so.

6. Third Eye Chakra

Third Eye Chakra

  • Number: Six
  • Location: Centre of the forehead, between the eyes
  • Colour: Indigo
  • Area of Focus: Intuition, imagination
  • Gemstones: Turquoise, Watermelon Tourmaline, Labradorite, Amethyst and Moonstone.

Also known as the Brow Chakra, the Third Eye Chakra is believed to relate to the act of seeing - both physically and intuitively.

As a result of its position, blockages in this chakra can manifest in the form of headaches, hearing problems and concentration. However, people with aligned Third Eye chakras are thought to have clarity of thought and vision; they should be able to concentrate with ease, and follow their intuition.

7. Crown Chakra

Crown Chakra

  • Number: Seven
  • Location: Top of the head
  • Colour: Purple
  • Area of Focus: Awareness, intelligence
  • Gemstones: Amethyst, Opal, Tourmaline, Diamond and Clear Quartz

The Crown Chakra has a direct association with consciousness, to give knowledge and understanding in spiritual connections and bliss.

Although each chakra refers to their own individual area of health, the Crown chakra is linked to every other chakra, and every organ in this system by default. It also affects our brain and nervous system, and is considered the chakra of enlightenment.

The Crown chakra is thought to represent spirituality and our life’s connection to purpose; so, when this chakra is blocked it’s believed to cause stubbornness and skepticism. However, when the Crown chakra is open, it’s said to bring peace to the person and keep all the other chakras open and balanced.

As we said before, chakras work as energetic systems within the body that correspond to our feelings. Therefore, some may resonate with you more than others, and some maybe not at all. We hope this has given you an insight into the concept of chakras, and how ensuring their alignment is thought to provide us with physical and emotional benefits.

Our Most Popular Blog Posts

Our Latest Blog Posts